Tag Archives: 2012 Movie reviews

Chained-2012

Chained-2012

Director-Jennifer Lynch

Starring-Vincent D’Onofrio

Reviewed March 24, 2017

Grade: B-

Chained is a 2012 independent horror film directed by Jennifer Lynch, who just happens to be the daughter of the brilliant film and television director, David Lynch, and his influence is readily felt throughout. The film is an exercise in cerebral, psychological horror, and is quite mesmerizing for most of the experience. The ending, however, is the pits, and takes away from the enjoyment of the rest of the film in its asinine, quickly wrapped-up, conclusion.

The film is set in an unknown area- all the audience really knows is a  decrepit, isolated, cabin in the middle of nowhere and that the shack exists in somewhat close proximity to a college town. Since the film is shot in Canada that is a good enough locale for me to accept. One day a seemingly happy husband drops off his wife and nine year old son at the movies, but implores them to take a taxi home as the bus is too dangerous. When they heed his advice, they are accosted by a deranged serial killer, Bob (D’Onofrio), who drives a cab and whisks them away to his remote home. After he kills the mother, he makes the son, whom he re-names Rabbit, his slave, reducing him to household chores and a somewhat accomplice to the subsequent victims he brings home. As the years pass and Bob continues to kill, he is determined to have, a now mature,  Rabbit follow in his footsteps.

A large chunk of Chained (and the film is aptly named because Bob commonly keeps Rabbit chained) takes place in Bob’s lonely home and Bob and Rabbit are all each other really have for support. Bob presumably earns a living by stealing the cash his victims carry. Many scenes of a bonding nature, albeit perverse, are featured as the two dole away the time between Bob’s kills, almost like a father and son. Jennifer Lynch wisely moves the film at a slow pace for appropriate build up.

Bob’s psychologically troubled childhood is told through flashbacks as he is victimized by his abusive father and forced to have sex with his own mother, who blames him rather than her husband. As a result, Bob hates women, and lures victim after victim into his cab and then slices and dices them back at his home. In a way, Bob is sympathetic, like a wounded bird, and whether he rapes the victims before killing them is unclear, as much happens off screen.

The cabin is purposely suffocating and when Bob teaches Rabbit intellectual facts and encourages him to read and study to become smart, it is a bonding experience. Slowly, Bob trusts Rabbit more and more. When Bob makes Rabbit pick out a young girl in a school yearbook to kill, the film kicks into high gear. Suddenly, it becomes vague whether Rabbit is loyal to Bob or still determined to escape. Will he help his intended victim instead of killing her?

David Lynch’s imprint is blatant in both the pacing of the film and more specifically in the low hum musical score, common in his own films. Daughter Jennifer clearly knows her father’s techniques as they continually come into play. A nice homage to Mulholland Dr. appears when a sweet older couple rides in the back of Bob’s cab, reminiscent of the older couple featured in Mulholland Dr. The gloomy ambiance is highly effective in Chained and the relationship between Bob and Rabbit, not sexual or overly violent, becomes actually rather sweet in some moments-almost like a typical father and son.

The rushed conclusion of the film is disastrous and Lynch’s attempt at a twist goes haywire in the “makes sense” department. After a compelling fight scene with Bob, Rabbit finally kills him, escapes his clutches, and returns to his fathers open arms (now newly re-married with another son) only to reveal to his father that he knows he orchestrated Rabbit and his mom’s abduction years ago and that Bob is really Rabbit’s uncle! To matters even more confusing, after a dramatic event, Rabbit is sent away yet again and returns to the cabin as his only safe place. This final act is a real dog, makes little sense, and is tough to digest.

I will give some liberties to 2012’s Chained since the director is spawned from the great David Lynch and the mood and several characteristics mirror his own work, but still with her own unique vision an obvious characteristic. Most of the film is a solid effort, but due to the ending of the film being such a let down, the body of work seems incomplete.

Lincoln-2012

Lincoln-2012

Director-Steven Spielberg

Starring-Daniel Day Lewis, Sally Field, Tommy Lee Jones

70251896

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Grade: A

Lincoln is a 2012 film, which received a slew of Academy award nominations. There appear to be differing opinions about the film itself, however Lincoln has audiences divided over whether it’s a brilliant film or a snore-fest. My opinion leans decisively toward the former.

I recognize that (especially the first half) the film is slow moving, but I found it engrossing and well made. Even the subtle aspects (costumes, art direction, lighting) are masterfully done. I found Daniel Day Lewis’s (Abraham Lincoln) lengthy stories intriguing, not dull, and found it to be a wonderful history lesson.

Steven Spielberg does what he does best- he creates a clearly Hollywood film done well. He does do controversial, shocking, or experimental, but mainstream fare is his forte.

Apparently, this film is not for everyone, but if you can find the patience it will be an enlightening experience- if nothing else, a thing or two may be learned.

This Is 40-2012

This Is 40-2012

Director-Judd Apatow

Starring-Paul Rudd, Leslie Mann

70244168

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Grade: B

I must admit, I was not looking forward to seeing this movie, and my initial thought was “typical dumb comedy” that has been seen a million times before. While the film does contain those elements and is clearly marketed toward a certain target audience, this movie is, surprisingly, smartly written and intelligent…overall.

I have not viewed Knocked Up, but I understand it’s a somewhat follow-up to that film, as the two central characters appear- now married and traversing through a different time in their lives-adulthood.

I enjoyed Paul Rudd’s, Melissa McCarthy’s, and whomever played the oldest daughter’s, performances the most, though Rudd has become the latest actor to play the same role over and over again. I enjoyed the rock n roll elements and the confrontation scenes as these were very cleverly written and nicely acted.

Sadly, at times the film relies on the standard bathroom humor done thousands of times before- a clear attempt at a laugh, and Jason Segal’s and Megan Fox’s characters are unnecessary to the main plot. This Is 40 is a film that, at its heart, shows the trials and tribulations of generations of families, in a humorous way, and done rather well.

The Tall Man-2012

The Tall Man-2012

Director-Pascal Laugier

Starring-Jessica Biel

70242985

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Grade: B-

The Tall Man is a cross between a horror/thriller/message movie that stars Jessica Biel as a nurse named Julia Denning, living in rural Washington, where the town’s children begin disappearing and abducted by a mysterious creature named “The Tall Man”. Is he a legend or a reality? When Julia’s son is the next victim, she sets out to solve the mystery.

The aging mining town of Cold Rock is the setting for the films events and it is perfect- containing all the necessary elements. The remote, secluded location, the various creepy townspeople. Additionally, The Tall Man has an interesting premise, and the ending is somewhat of a surprise, though rushed, so it’s an interesting experience. The plot is so far fetched and convoluted at times that it is tough to follow and take seriously.

I am not a fan of Jessica Biel’s, in fact I find her acting to be subpar, but she is adequate in her starring turn and gives a compelling performance as a haggard mom. Given the actresses good looks, I didn’t totally buy her as a blue-collar, small town type.

Overall, throughout the film I found something missing, but could not put my finger on it. A decent thriller, but nothing more.

Frankenweenie-2012

Frankenweenie-2012

Director-Tim Burton

Starring-Catherine O’Hara, Martin Short

70219496

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Grade: B

Frankenweenie is a very creative Tim Burton made, stop-motion film that received a nomination for Best Animated Feature at the 2012 Oscars. On the dark side, it is a pleasure to watch for the thought invoked, and left of center compared to many safe modern animated features.

The story revolves around a lonely young man who experiments on his recently deceased dog to bring him back to life. It is a black and white film, has nice horror references (Frankenstein, Bride of Frankenstein) and interesting characters. It is also heartwarming as the child’s love for the dog is evident.

The movie is easy to compare to 2012’s ParaNorman in multiple ways (lonely male teen, both dark films). As much as I give major props to this film for the creativity involved, somehow it did not completely connect with me (I liked ParaNorman better) and I’m not sure why, but I have great respect for the creative achievements it encompasses.

ParaNorman-2012

ParaNorman-2012

Director-Chris Butler, Sam Fell

Starring-Kodi Smit-McPhee, Anna Kendrick

70217914

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Grade: B+

ParaNorman is a very imaginative, enjoyable, animated film that I admired a great deal. Creative colors and images are key and the film is stop-motion.

Despite being animated it is really not a kids movie, but rather geared toward the teenager or older demographic. It is among the strongest, along with Frankenweenie- a similar type film, of the five nominated films for Best Animated feature, in the year 2012.

In fact, ParaNorman is so similar to Frankenweenie that they could almost be simultaneously reviewed or be watched in the same day.  Both center around an isolated young male coping with his surroundings and both contain a light horror feel to them.

In ParaNorman, an army of zombies invades a small, suburban town, and our hero, Norman, a strange young man who can communicate with the dead, must save the day. The film contains sympathetic peers, but the adults in the film present various obstacles.

I have gone on record as being not much of an animated film fan, but I do view the best of each year and this one impressed me immensely.

5 Broken Cameras-2012

5 Broken Cameras-2012

Director-Emad Burnat, Guy Davidi

Starring-Emad Burnat

70229917

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Grade: B-

5 Broken Cameras is a 2012 documentary spoken in the Arabic language, which received critical acclaim upon release and heaps of award nominations.

A documentary about a Palestinian farmers- Emad Burnat- recount of Israeli soldiers overtaking his land over the span of several years, it became a Best Documentary Oscar nominee. Non political in his life, he is threatened as the Israelis build a wall through his land, which he refuses to part with.

As important as the subject matter is, it never really captures my attention and I found it to drag a bit, which pains me to say because I was hoping to be really into it given the topic.

This could simply be my opinion since it is a critically acclaimed piece. I would have definitely voted in the far superior Invisible War, from the same year, for Oscar glory.

Searching for Sugar Man-2012

Searching for Sugar Man-2012

Director-Malik Bendjelloul

Starring-Sixto Rodriguez

70229213

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Grade: B

Searching for Sugar Man is a heartwarming documentary that tells the true story of a forgotten rising Detroit rock singer (Rodriguez) from the early 1970’s, rediscovered by South African DJ’s where he is a surprising legend in present times.

The documentary’s main talking point is how an icon can be idolized in one country, while living in utter poverty in another. Thought to be the next great thing in the 1970’s, his two released albums bombed and he subsequently faded into oblivion, until tracked down by the South African DJ’s, curious of his current whereabouts.

An inspiring documentary for any musician or fan of music as Rodriguez is a true artist, not in it for the money type or obsessed with attention nor fame, who finally receives some recognition for his talent. He is a free spirit, reminiscent of Bob Dylan, poet, whose story is a courageous one. Thankfully, this inspired documentary has brought some notice to Rodriguez.

End of Watch-2012

End of Watch-2012

Director-David Ayer

Starring-Jake Gyllenhaal, Michael Pena

70235384

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Grade: B+

End of Watch impressed me much more than I was expecting. What I expected was a safe, by the numbers, buddy/action type movie, since it was rather promoted as such from the previews. It was worlds better than that and through me for a loop- in a good way.

The film stars Jake Gyllenhaal and Michael Pena star as two detectives patrolling the streets of grizzled central Los Angeles, which are riddled with drug and gang violence. The viewer is brought along for the ride as we see a day in the life, if you will, of their cop beat.

The one knock I’d give the film is the implausibility factor of a cop videotaping everything. This seems silly and unrealistic.  Wouldn’t he be incredibly distracted? That said, some of the filming was amazing, including the opening sequence. The film contains a realistic, grittiness to it, and the Los Angeles locale is very effective.

End of Watch feels painstakingly real, is not always happy, and the dynamic between Jake Gyllenhaal and Michael Pena evident and their friendship feels real.

The movie feels like a day in the life of an LA cop, sparing no edgy detail,and does not gloss over the lifestyle as many cop films choose to do.

Ruby Sparks-2012

Ruby Sparks-2012

Director-Jonathan Dayton, Valerie Faris

Starring-Paul Dano, Zoe Kazan

70213510

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Grade: B

Ruby Sparks is a smart, creative, indie film from 2012. The films theme is fantasy versus reality as the main character is a troubled writer envisioning a character he has created is real. Is she or isn’t she?

The film centers around a writer (Paul Dano of Little Miss Sunshine fame) with writers block who creates an imaginary dream girl (Zoe Kazan), who magically comes to life one day. This is an interesting premise and film and has some big name actors (Annette Bening, Eliot Gould, Antonio Banderas) in small roles which is a delight to see.

The chemistry is lacking between the two leads and the film delves too much into a typical romantic comedy. Additionally,the film never explains if it is going for seriousness or purely the writers imagination, but I admire its creativity and thoughtful premise.

Gayby-2012

Gayby-2012

Director-Jonathan Lisecki

Starring-Jenn Harris, Mathew Wilkas

70234883

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Grade: C+

Gayby is a sketch type comedy about two best friends ( a gay man and a straight woman) who decide to have a child together. Both have reached a certain age and are unhappy to have not found the perfect mate. The story is not a novel idea in film- or television for that matter, and feels more like a Saturday Night Live sketch. The film is also playing on the success of television comedies like Will and Grace- the obvious dynamic of the central characters.

The two leads are quite appealing in a comic way and have wit (Jenn Harris in a neurotic way) and great timing. The subject matter is an interesting one, though as years go by and more LGBT topics covered,  it is becoming rather dated and not novel any longer.

The negative is the frenetic, quick pacing of the film ultimately making it rather off-putting and annoying, to say nothing of the irritating stereotypical, supporting characters- written so over-the-top that it is tough to take the film as serious as it should be taken.

Safety Not Guaranteed-2012

Safety Not Guaranteed-2012

Director-Colin Trevorrow

Starring-Mark Duplass, Aubrey Plaza

70227946

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Grade: B-

Safety Not Guaranteed is similar in style to another 2012 independent film, Ruby Sparks, in that they pose the question of “is this fantasy or reality”? The film deals with the subject of time travel.

The story centers around a magazine journalist, who, along with two interns, follow a man convinced that he is building a time travel machine. The story then develops into a romantic comedy of sorts and the audience is unsure if the guy is actually crazy or purely a genius. It’s an interesting concept, intelligently written, and Aubrey Plaza and Mark Duplass are both quite likeable in the lead roles.

The one flaw for me was, at times, the movie dove into slapstick territory with a silly secondary story of a stereotypically written Indian character attempting to lose his virginity, but besides that, the film has intriguing intentions.

House at the End of the Street-2012

House at the End of the Street-2012

Director-Mark Tonderai

Starring-Jennifer Lawrence, Elisabeth Shue

70215438

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Grade: B

House at the End of the Street is a perfect example of a horror film that has excellent effects and great potential, but the storytelling brings it down. It is also a film starring Jennifer Lawrence, before she was the Oscar winning star. Her performance is an adequate effort, and she does what she can in the lead role. Lawrence is likeable in this role and is the clear hero of the film.

The film itself looks great. It certainly has all of the necessary horror elements: a creepy house in the woods, darkness, sudden scares. The buildup during the first half of the movie is very interesting and the audience is not quite sure what’s to come and what mysteries and secret lurk in the title house.

During the final thirty minutes, however, when the twist is revealed, the film becomes a predictable, by the numbers, thriller and disappoints at the end. The story becomes so convoluted it hardly matters anymore. First half- great; second half- fail.

I was happy to see Elisabeth Shue in this movie, as she has been out of the limelight for years, her character, though,  is quite one dimensional.

Film summary- great looking horror film, mediocre writing.

Arbitrage-2012

Arbitrage-2012

Director-Nicholas Jarecki

Starring-Richard Gere, Susan Sarandon

70227644

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Grade: B+

Arbitrage is an exciting, interesting, little indie thriller starring Richard Gere as a successful, but troubled, CEO, whose life begins to unravel around him through a series of circumstances. He is billionaire, but at risk of losing everything due to shady dealings and fraudulent activity.

The film is the type that keeps the audience guessing and is never predictable. The plot slowly unravels into something of a pot-boiler. It is tense and taut. Richard Gere is clearly the standout as he gives a wonderful, believable performance. Once known as little more than a hunky Hollywood star, Gere has blossomed in recent years, taking on more compelling and complex roles.

Arbitrage contains some Hitchcock elements throughout in its complexities, though Gere’s character is an anti-hero whereas Hitchcock’s were frequently good guys in bad circumstances. The car crash scene is brilliantly done.

I wish this movie had received more attention than it has as it is a fun, thrill-ride.

Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present-2012

Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present-2012

Director-Matthew Akers, Jeff Dupre

Starring-Marina Abramovic

70232038

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Grade: B+

The wonderful thing about documentary features is that they can introduce the viewer to a world of knowledge or provide an experience that you may not ordinarily be exposed to. This is certainly the case for me personally with Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present.

Knowing nothing prior about this inspiring artist, I had no idea who she was going into this documentary and had no exposure to performance art. The film does a great job of telling Marina’s career history, extreme discipline, and the honesty of her work. The documentary is also a biography then, of sorts, as it gives a history lesson of who she is and various obstacles she has hurdled in her life.

Marina is portrayed as an extreme artist and it was a wonderful experience learning about her. Seeing video of The Museum of Modern Art in nearby New York City was a treat since I have been to the museum before.

Compliance-2012

Compliance-2012

Director-Craig Zobel

Starring-Ann Dowd

70229062

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Grade: A

Compliance  is a ninety minute riveting experience that will leave you thinking, talking, and feeling for days or weeks after viewing-it is that intense. The fact that it is based on true events is even more startling. It is, at times, quite disturbing and unsettling to watch, and if one likes their movies happy and wrapped in a bow, this will not be for you, but for film fans who truly want an emotional experience check it out. At times I wanted to scream at the characters, look away from the screen, and shake my head in disbelief. A truly riveting experience.

Major props to actress Ann Dowd, who does a bang up job as the restaurant manager, and main character. What an amazing talent this actress is.

My range of emotions at this character (sympathy, confusion, anger, disbelief) blew me away. One of the best modern films of late.

 

Hope Springs-2012

Hope Springs-2012

Director-David Frankel

Starring-Meryl Streep, Tommy Lee Jones

70230548

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Grade: B

Hope Springs is a cute, lighthearted romantic drama with enormous talent (it is tough to go wrong with heavyweights like Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones).

The story tells of a middle-aged, married couple who reach the point of boredom in their long marriage. They decide to go away on a retreat to repair their marriage and add some spark. That’s really the movie in a nut shell. There are no surprises to speak of and I expected a bit more from this film given the talent involved. It has safe written all over it, and while nice, it could have been much more. What’s the reason for the conflict? They suddenly reach a point of boredom for no reason.

Props to Steve Carell for an against type performance. Great acting all around, but too safe a story.

The Dark Knight Rises-2012

The Dark Knight Rises-2012

Director-Christopher Nolan

Starring-Christian Bale, Tom Hardy

70213514

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Grade: C+

The Dark Knight Rises is a sequel to the exceptional The Dark Knight from 2008 and, unfortunately,  is  a complete let down, especially compared to that film. Perhaps my expectations were too lofty- it is a sequel after all, and sequels, typically disappoint.

To be fair, the film looks great and has a fast-paced, modern feel- slick and action packed. A summer popcorn film. The story, though, is uninteresting- the villains are not compelling, which is a major miss in a film like this where the villains are crucial. Tom Hardy as Bane is miscast. Anne Hathaway’s Catwoman, under-developed and one dimensional. We never really know much about what makes these characters tick.

I did enjoy the twist at the end involving Marion Cotillard, which impressed me and I did not see coming throughout the story.

I might have rated The Dark Knight Rises even lower than a C+ had it not been for the group of top notch actors appearing in the film. Having loved the most recent Batman film, I expected more and received less.

The Woman in Black-2012

The Woman in Black-2012

Director-James Watkins

Starring-Daniel Radcliffe, Janet McTeer

70206133

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Grade: C

The Woman in Black is an example of a recent trend in modern horror films-  great effects (shadows, lighting, ghosts, some scares), but the story is not compelling and, in fact, made no sense to me.

The eerie setting of foggy London and a creepy seaside village are perfect. The cinematography dynamic, it instantly elicits a feeling of dread, coldness, and secrets. From that point the story sinks into a muddled mess of unbelievable story twists that, instead of compelling, confuse the viewer until he or she no longer cares. That is a shame.

I give Daniel Radcliffe credit for trying to shake his Harry Potter image by going the horror route and, I suspect, that is the entire point of the film, as it clearly centers around Radcliffe, but, to me, it seemed like I was still watching a Harry Potter movie.

Nice effects, poor story. This one will be forgotten before long.

Ted-2012

Ted-2012

Director-Seth MacFarlane

Starring-Mark Wahlberg, Mila Kunis

70218756

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Grade: D-

So many times I will watch a comedy deemed “the funniest movie of the year”, or some other touting, and be disappointed in it. This is certainly the case with Ted.

To be fair to the creators, I did enjoy the 1980’s references and the teddy bear had a charming, gruff, witty, crude personality that was funny at times, but that was really it for the positives.

The main storyline (loyal slacker with successful girlfriend) has been done to death and this was one of the most predictable, sappy movie endings I’ve ever seen so I don’t get why people think it is so great. Think happily ever after, as if the end result was ever in question.

Ted was filled with stereotypical characters, specifically the Asian stereotypes, and a myriad of dumb situations. The actors certainly could handle stronger material.

Raunchy comedies need not have a surprise ending, but the sappy love story was too lame to take at times. At least the film should have taken some risks and given edge to it.  And lord help us if there is the inevitable sequel.

The Paperboy-2012

The Paperboy-2012

Director-Lee Daniels

Starring-Matthew McConaughey, Zac Efron

70242546

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Grade: A-

The Paperboy is an exceptional piece of film making by modern acclaimed director, Lee Daniels (Precious, The Butler), who has become one of my favorite directors in recent years.

His latest film is a raw, violent, containing elements of black-comedy, and is arguably Nicole Kidman’s and John Cusack’s best performances. They both play troubled, insecure characters, who have major issues.

It is set in the deep south during the 1960’s and is a film noir of sorts, in fact, the film is incredibly tough to classify, but drama will cover it just fine. Racism, homosexuality, and deceit are subject matters covered in this complex yet fascinating experience.

Gritty and disturbing at times, it is an important film that fans of true artistic cinema must see.

Paranormal Activity 4-2012

Paranormal Activity 4-2012

Director-Henry Joost, Ariel Schulman

Starring-Katie Featherston

70243451

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Grade: B

Circa 2013, and at this point in the Paranormal Activity  film franchise (with part 5 on its way) one pretty much knows what to expect. To me the plot is almost secondary.

In the story the newborn from the first installment is now age 7 and living next door to the family at the center of the film. The entertaining aspect of these films are the camera angles and occasional scares that sporadically follow.

The ending to Paranormal Activity 4 is effective and a bit scary, in fact. The original Paranormal Activity was a huge hit and novel idea at the time (though The Blair Witch Project originally did the hand-held videotape) and was a water-cooler movie.

I’m not sure how much life remains in the franchise, but for fans of it and horror fans seeking some good thrills, this one is worth checking out.

That’s My Boy-2012

That’s My Boy-2012

Director-Sean Anders

Starring-Adam Sandler, Andy Samberg

70220030

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Grade: D

That’s My Boy is such an incredibly bad film yet there is something that strangely kept my attention. With the oodles of stereotypes and either sexist, homophobic, or racist jokes throughout the film, it should have made me angry, but somehow it did not. This movie was so completely over the top that it could not possibly be taken too seriously.

Once laughable aspect that I did enjoy was the, albeit odd, cameos by Vanilla Ice and Todd Bridges who seem to have no problem degrading themselves, and the references to the 1980’s, otherwise this was pretty rock bottom for film making.

This is not a knock on the dumb comedy genre as there are other recent similar types of films that are well written (This is 40). But, alas, That’s My Boy is not one of those films and will not go down in history as such. True to form, the ending was predictable and uninteresting.

Seven Psychopaths-2012

Seven Psychopaths-2012

Director-Martin McDonagh

Starring-Colin Farrell, Sam Rockwell

70241756

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Grade: B-

Seven Psychopaths is a film that I truly wanted to like more than I actually did. It started off well with a Quentin Tarantino style that was appealing and the film does contain an interesting premise.

Colin Farrell plays the straight man in a cast of offbeat, quirky characters and is attempting to complete a screenplay entitled “Seven Psychopaths” based on these characters. Sounds great, but halfway through the movie stopped delivering. I found myself slightly bored.

The film has a unique concept, to be sure, but fizzles during the second act, so much so that it stopped making much sense and lost my interest.

I did admire the creativity, though, and the chemistry among the cast is great, but the story disappointed me.

Celeste and Jesse Forever-2012

Celeste and Jesse Forever-2012

Director-Lee Toland Krieger

Starring-Rashida Jones, Andy Samberg

70227647

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Grade: D

Celeste and Jesse Forever was a major dud for me. I am not a fan of romantic comedies, but since the film received a nomination for an Independent Spirit award for Best First Screenplay, I decided to watch it. Why this film was nominated for that award I cannot understand. Perhaps someone knows someone who knows someone?

There is nothing impressive about the writing whatsoever. It’s a tried and true romantic comedy formula: couple together, couple splits, couple reunites, throw in some misunderstandings for good measure and that is pretty much the film. The central characters and supporting characters are either dull, annoying, or both.

To be fair, there is nothing loathsome about the movie, but rather, it’s your standard by the numbers romantic comedy that warrants no award nominations. Bland.